Two new Florida laws in 2019 are below:
Hillsborough County sales tax hike
Hillsborough County voters authorized a 1.5 percent sales tax increase. A half-cent for every dollar will go to Hillsborough County Public Schools for property improvements. The other one cent will go to improving public transit, roads and bridges. Combined, the increases make Hillsborough County’s sales tax to the highest in the state.
Minimum wage increase
Florida’s minimum-wage rate is increasing to $8.46 an hour and at least $5.44 an hour for tipped employees. The new minimum wage is an increase from $8.25 per hour. In 2017, the rate was $8.10. Employees who are not paid the minimum wage may bring a civil action against their employer or any person violating Florida’s minimum wage law.